Which United States Have Legalized Marijuana?

The District of Columbia and seven other states with legalized marijuana are fighting an uphill battle as the possession of marijuana remains a federal offense punishable with up to one year of incarceration and up to a $1,000 fine. Currently, the seven states that have legalized marijuana for recreational use include California, Massachusetts, Nevada, Maine, Oregon, Washington and Colorado. Twenty-nine states have legalized marijuana for medicinal use, and many states have decriminalized the possession of the substance. These conflicting marijuana laws vary from state to state, so it’s crucial to stay up-to-date on each area’s legislative changes.

Legalized Recreational Marijuana

Currently, one in five Americans reside in a https://www.mba-healthcare-management.com/best-online-roulette-real-money-usa/. The first two states to legalize recreational marijuana in 2012 were Colorado and Washington. California led the charge in pursuing medical legalization as far back as 1996, and the state further legalized the use and possession of up to one ounce of recreational marijuana in 2016. Alaska legalized the use, possession and transportation of up to one ounce of marijuana in 2015. Oregon, Nevada and Washington all allow up to one ounce. Massachusetts allows it’s residents to grow up to twelve plants in their homes. Maine’s unique perspective allows for a total of 2.5 ounces of recreational weed.

Legalized Medical Marijuana

Some states have been reluctant to allow recreational marijuana but accepting of scientific evidence supporting the medical benefits of ingesting the plant. Many of these states have removed the criminal penalties associated with using, possessing, cultivating or transporting marijuana as long as the individual has a medical marijuana license and is registered with the state’s patient database. States with boomtown casino hotel include: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington and West Virginia. Washington, D.C. also allows medical marijuana use.

How “Legal” is Legalized Pot?

Legalization of marijuana means making the possession, transportation, growing and use of the substance non-punishable by law. The terms used by marijuana advocates like “legalization” are somewhat misleading because of the nature of state and federal laws in America. Even when marijuana is deemed “legal” by the state of Colorado, a user can still be punished based on the authority of federal laws that demonize the drug. The United States Constitution includes a supremacy clause as part of article VI that clearly states the federal government ‘wins’ when in confliction with state law. As unreal as it sounds, a person in a marijuana-friendly state could either face no charge or a year in jail for the same offense based on whether they are stopped by a state police officer or a federal one. Skeptics can look to the case of Gerald Duval Jr. for further confirmation of this. Gerald owned a medical marijuana farm that was allowed based on Michigan state law. Despite the state’s law, the federal government pressed charges and Gerald now faces a ten year jail sentence for breaking federal marijuana laws.

Seven states and the District of Columbia have already legalized recreational marijuana at the state level, while more than half of all the states have legalized medical pot possession. Marijuana advocates can celebrate their progress, but more needs to be done to completely legalize and decriminalize the drug. Until the federal government changes its stance on pot, individuals that choose to smoke in states with legalized marijuana remain at-risk for prosecution.

Find Your Degree
Mba-healthcare-management.com is an advertising-supported site. Featured or trusted partner programs and all school search, finder, or match results are for schools that compensate us. This compensation does not influence our school rankings, resource guides, or other editorially-independent information published on this site.